October, November, and December OwlCrate Unboxings

Whew, a three in one post! I’ve been slacking on my unboxing posts but my shelves have slowly been filling up with some gorgeous special editions. I’m trying to be more picky about the crates I receive in 2021 though, because I am seriously falling behind in my TBR haha!

October: Legends and Lore

An unboxing of the October 2020 OwlCrate box. Photo depicts a hardcover of Legendborn by Tracy Deonn with an enamel pin, a bamboo phone stand with a calligraphy quote “Show me a dream unrealized”, a set of wind chimes, a purple nail file, a bar of green soap, a bowl cozy with a sun and moon design, and a card for an audiobook of Raybearer.

This month’s book is Legendborn by Tracy Deonn and the OwlCrate cover has switched a couple of elements around with exclusive foiling on the hardcover and reversible dustcover art by Chibia Ulinwa. The monthly enamel pin is designed by Hey Atlas Creative. We’ve also got a bamboo phone stand with a quote from The Star-Touched Queen by Lady Chubb Letters, a star and moon wind chime, a glass nail file with a quote from Girls of Paper and Fire, a plant-based soap bar by Motherland Essentials inspired by A Song of Wraiths and Ruin by Roseanne A Brown, a bowl cozy inspired by Elizabeth Lim’s Spin the Dawn designed by Janine Lecour, an early chapter excerpt of We Free the Stars by Hafsah Faizal and an audiobook download for Jordan Ifueko’s Raybearer.

I haven’t opened up the book yet haha so haven’t gotten a chance to peek under the cover! I’ve heard a lot of praise for this book but based on the content warnings, I’m going to wait to read it. Overall, I really like the bowl cozy as an item, and the audiobook ended up being my favorite audiobook of the year! The scent of the soap isn’t for me but I’m glad that all the items in the box are usable and I’ve got the wind chimes hung up in my room.

November: Growing Wild

An unboxing of the November 2020 OwlCrate box. Photo depicts a hardcover of Among the Beasts & Briars by Ashley Poston with a bear enamel pin, a dandelion necklace, floral LOTR-inspired postcards, a wooden flower press with a floral design, and a reading planner.

This month’s book, Among the Beasts & Briars by Ashley Poston (also featured in October SpearCraft Book Box), is customized with an alternate cover (the original is white) and dark red sprayed edges. The monthly enamel pin has a bear designed by Morgane Brret. There is also a glass dandelion necklace, a wooden flower press drawn by PeppermintLines, Lord of the Rings inspired floral postcards by Rheannon Ormond, and OwlCrate’s yearly reading planner with some stickers included from pipstickers.

I think this box is absolutely beautiful! This alternate cover for ATBB is beautiful and the edges match so well. The postcards were a bit of a disappointment since I was hoping for something usable (I’m not really a fan of receiving art prints in boxes), but they make nice props in my bookstagram photos so that’s a win I guess. The necklace is pretty and I’m looking forward to using the planner. I’ve never pressed flowers before but hopefully when the weather warms up, I can give it a go!

December: Love is a Battlefield

An unboxing of the December 2020 OwlCrate box. Photo depicts a hardcover of These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong with an enamel pin and author letter, a puzzle featuring art by BloodyDamnit, a jar of hand cream, a wooden ornament, grey knit legwarmers, and a mini glass decorative rolling pin.

Debut novel These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong is the December OwlCrate book (also featured in December Fairyloot) has a green patterned cover to the traditional black, and reversible dust jacket art by artist scarecrux. The naked hardcover is also gold with black foiling vs the regular black and silver foiling. The monthly pin by Iron & Ink designs features the quote “these violent delights have violent ends”. The 300 piece puzzle features art by BloodyDamnit of characters from Ember in the Ashes. There is a tub of hand cream from Fiction Bath Co, knit grey legwarmers, a glass ornamental mini rolling pin, and OwlCrate’s yearly wooden ornament.

I’ve been trying to get my hands on this book since arcs were announced and am glad to have gotten this gorgeous edition! I love the reverse art and the naked cover. I was also especially excited for the FBC item in this box, as they’re one of my favorite bookish small businesses.


What do you think of 2020’s OwlCrate boxes? Do you subscribe to any book boxes? Drop me a comment below or find me on social media (Twitter, Instagram, Goodreads)!

What do you think of this month’s picks? Have you read any of the books? Let me know in a comment below or find me on social media (Twitter, Instagram, Goodreads)!

With love, Pei

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started